The Aroma Of Christ

Do you have the sweet aroma of Jesus?!

hg-aroma.001
II Corinthians 2:14-16

I was meditating on this scripture today and started singing it, making it personal, and the joy of the Lord started surging through me. The best medicine for combating negativity and all other sorts of struggles is through the Word. I have learned that by singing (though it’s not much of a melody!) scripture it is like glue…it gets “stuck” inside of me and also brings tremendous understanding. While singing/reading this passage today I realized how much JOY I bring to God! [I personalized the passage below and added emphasis]

Now thanks be to God who always leads me in triumph in Christ, and through me diffuses the fragrance of His knowledge in EVERY place. For I am to God the fragrance [sweet aroma] of Christ among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing. To the one I am the aroma of death leading to death, and to the other the aroma of life leading to life. 

Stinky or Lovely?

I’ve read these words before but I didn’t really understand it when it says, “we are to God the fragrance of Christ among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing.” What does that mean? Maybe everyone else understood it clearly but I didn’t – until this morning. The more we gain knowledge of the Lord the more we radiate the aroma of Christ; the more like Christ the stronger the fragrance. We all exude a fragrance in our spirit, whether it is of life or death. The fragrance of Christ will be the sweet aroma of life to those who are being saved, but to those, that same fragrance will be the smell of death. I love essential oils. They smell wonderful to me, however my husband hates them and it gives him a headache. It is the same aroma but different reactions. It’s the same with our spirit. When we give off the aroma of Christ there will be two reactions to it. I can only assume it goes the other way as well. The less of Christ and the more of the world offers a different scent. The fragrance of Christ is a sweet aroma to God Himself and to those who are being saved.

So, are you stinky or lovely? And to WHOM are you stinky or lovely? The receiver determines what type of scent you have, so who do you want to enjoy your aroma? I’ve noticed my scent has been off lately as I have given in to a critical spirit. Good news though! More of Christ improves my (and your) scent.

May the Spirit of Christ dwell in you RICHLY!

Leave a Reply

