Psalm 91: He protects me

The most beautiful aspect of the Bible is that it is alive! So often we read with a deadened spirit and not expecting to receive anything from it. Maybe we pick it up out of obligation or want an answer for something but don’t know where to look.

Glowing Bible

I can not emphasize enough the importance of STUDY and MEDITATION of the Word. I would say that my calling is to declare over and over our desperate need to be truly IN the Word. We must know what the Bible says and we MUST have the Holy Spirit give us insight and understanding.  Do not be fooled: just because someone uses scripture does not mean they are telling the truth, they may be selling you a lie. Even Satan used scripture to tempt Christ; the enemy of our souls knows the Word better than most of us. Don’t think he doesn’t use that tactic with us.

Once you dive into it and start gaining understanding I promise you will get to a point where you can’t get enough! One of my favorite exercises is to take a passage of scripture and personalize it.  I did that today with Psalm 91.  Remember, the promises and blessings of Scripture are now ours, for those that are in Christ. The curses of the OT are now promises because Christ became a curse for us. The fullness of Him dwells in you, if you are in Christ! Oh, such good news indeed!

Now go and speak out God’s promises so that they infuse your mind and soul…that is how you renew your mind so that it comes in alignment with your spirit that is in Christ.

PSALM 91

I dwell in the shelter of the Most high and abide in the shadow of the Almighty. I say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress, My God, in whom I trust!”. For it is He who delivers me from the snare

May21-RainStorm-IndySpreadsWings
courtesy of eagles.org

of the trapper, and from the deadly pestilence. He covers me with His pinions, and under His wings I seek refuge; His faithfulness is a shield and bulwark. I am not afraid of the terror by night, or of the arrow that flies by day; of the pestilence that stalks in darkness, or of the destruction that lays waste at noon. A thousand may fall at my side, and ten thousand at my right hand; but it shall not approach me. I will only look on with my eyes, and see the recompense of the wicked. 

For I have made the Lord, my refuge, the Most High, my dwelling place.

No evil will befall me, nor will any plague come near my home. For He will give His angels charge concerning me, to guard me in all my ways. They will bear me up in their hands, lest I strike my foot against a stone. I will tread upon the lion and cobra, the young lion and the serpent I will trample down. 

Because I have loved Him, therefore He will deliver me; he set me securely on high because I know His name.

I will call upon the Lord and He answers me; He will be with me in trouble; He rescues me, and honors me. With a long life He will satisfy me, and let me behold His salvation!

bible - thy-word.001

4 thoughts on “Psalm 91: He protects me

  1. Thanks so much for this most inspiring reminder to personalize the Word of God and speak to back to yourself. I share your intensity for the Word. Your passion is clearly evident in your posts.

    Thanks also for stopping by Dr. J’s Apothecary Shoppe and taking time to “like” what your saw. I appreciate the encouragement.

    Like

Leave a Reply

